Tuesday, 13 May 2014


Significance of Taking Refuge and Five Precepts Ceremony

 Taking Refuge is what makes one a Buddhist, because in doing so, one accepts (or reaffirms accepting) the Buddha as the perfect, enlightened teacher, the Dharma as the guide to the spiritual path and the Sangha as the supporting spiritual community. These three are also known as the Triple Gems.

Three Refuges

• I take refuge in the Buddha, wishing all sentient beings to understand the great Doctrine and make the superlative resolve.

• I take refuge in the Dharma, wishing all sentient beings to penetrate the Sutra Pitaka with wisdom as unfathomable as the ocean.

• I take refuge in the Sangha, wishing all sentient beings to harmonise the multitudes in general, without any obstruction whatsoever, and to respect the sacred Sangha.

One who has taken refuge and wish to follow the Path diligently will make vows to adhere to the

Five Precepts :

• To refrain from harming living beings.

• To refrain from taking that which is not freely given.

• To refrain from sexual misconduct.

• To refrain from incorrect speech (lying, harsh language, slander, idle chit-chat).

• To refrain from intoxicants which lead to loss of mindfulness.

Source: Source: http://www.thanhsiang.org/en/wesak-day

No comments: